3 Things I Learned Working As An Intern

We all need to STAND OUT.

Sahil Wassan
4 min readMay 28, 2022
Picture Provided by the author

I haven’t been much active on Medium. Yes, for the past one or two months, I have been posting one or two stories a month and I think it’s time to come back. After 6–7 months of publishing content on Medium, I decided to go with LinkedIn and find an internship. With just the experience I gained writing on Medium, I am glad I’m working as a Content Writer Intern for the company.

While I was sitting on my chair thinking about how I could waste my entire weekend, :*, I came across my monthly stats on Medium, and boy did they drop!

Picture provided by the Author

The numbers didn’t even touch 70 for this month unlike other months when I was much more active than now. One question that would arise is — “Why am I thinking about Medium followers when I’m involved with another company?” Well, working as an intern for two months has helped me realize three things:

#1 To excel in Content Writing, you have to be present everywhere

A content writer needs to be present everywhere to stand out from the competition. Not just working as an intern, you have to be constantly active on various social media platforms, write on Medium or any other platform, even as a contributor on Wikipedia, and have your hands dipped in the freelancing places. Every second, an article, news, videos, photos, etc. is posted on the Internet and if one has to select your article from millions of other articles, it has to be outstanding. The competition is HUGE and if you want to stand out, you have to STAND EVERYWHERE.

#2 More Passive Income sources

The competition is high and so are the prices! When I lived alone, I realized how hard it is to earn little money and very easy to spend. The prices have been soaring high like never before and dreaming of luxuries would just be a dream if the provision of passive income sources isn’t made. Investments in Stocks and Mutual Funds are going down every day (though it’s always ideal to stay in the game:* ). If cutting down expenses isn’t possible, then I have to find more sources.

#3 Experience is everything

I got to learn 1000 things about how a company works and how content is published on the Internet. Content and trend are changing every day and if there’s one thing that could make you flexible with changes is EXPERIENCE. Again comes the demand for skills and huge competition, just being a content writer doesn’t fulfill the needs.

There’s much more demand for writers who have graphic designing, video making, video editing, and a creative mind for content strategies. Again comes the point, “you have to be present everywhere”. An intern works on building his/her CV to make it the best out of the rest.

I don’t have any of those skills I mentioned but with as many as opinions that I heard, most of them said that developing skills takes time, and giving it the time it deserves is a better option than rushing into learning everything. Experiencing everything takes time and it should. Grasp as much knowledge as you can and when the time comes, STAND OUT.

One thing at a time. Something will always drop down from a full plate.

Photo by Felipe Furtado on Unsplash

Experience everything, gain knowledge, and STAND OUT.

So, these are the three things that I learned and experienced over two months. There are lots of other things which I learned that I’ll be sharing soon with you guys. I have received great support and responses from my fellow Medium writers and followers. Content is King and so are we!

Keep writing, keep sharing.

--

--